The Preppy Girl

preppy

What does preppy mean to you? Well to me, preppy is the “school girl look” without the sexy connotation to it. I have been loving this preppy style recently because the look can be dressed up or down. So what are some essentials that come with the preppy look? 

1. Colors- Usually preppy colors will be black, blue, gray, and white. These colors are standard and can look very chic when placed together.

2. “Fancy Shorts”- I’m not entirely sure on materials and fabrics but if you go ahead and try to find something that is not a jean material but almost a wool texture, you’re good. They’re great with really fancy tops.

3. Collared Shirts- Anything collared is already very preppy. A collared top that is nice and fitted looks amazing on anyone. With so many types to choose from, I’d wear them all my life if I could. There’s solid colors, patterns, and even ones with studs on the collars! 

4. Messenger Bag- Something like the picture above where a working girl/student can place her books and files in and still look fashionable. 

5. Pleated Skirt- A pleated skirt is just a regular skirt but with indents in the fabric so the skirt kind of resembles a cupcake liner. What?! That’s the only way I can describe it! I love tucking collared shirts underneath these pleated skirts.

6. Glasses- Make a statement and wear some big frame glasses. I got mine from Forever 21, and they are super adorable. I can’t wear big frames even though I have glasses because my vision is SO BAD that the lens would be to heavy (*sighs).

7. Silver Jewelry- I’ve seen a lot of girls rock silver statement jewelry over their collared shirts. SEE I’M TELLING YOU COLLARED SHIRTS ARE SO EASY TO WEAR. Silver just goes really well with these standard colors. 

8. Knee High Socks- Hey you can take really tumblr-ly pictures with them over white sheets. I love them because they keep my legs warmer if I ever want to wear skirts in colder weather. 

9. Plaid- Very simple plaid with dark purples or greens can be great for preppy looks. 

10. Boots- Go for black boots because they go with everything and look very classic! Try the military style boots to go with your outfits. 

-Zoe 

Leave a comment